Logo

Swiss Chamber Music Festival

The Swiss Chamber Music Festival provides a highlight in the diverse festival landscape of Switzerland and sets an unmistakable accent with the promotion of young musicians, exciting programming and style encounters.

The starting point of the festival is the Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition, which has existed since 1974 and annually honours chamber music graduates from Swiss music academies. The ensembles taking part in the competition face the high-calibre jury - currently led by Bern musician and cellist Thomas Demenga - which awards prizes to six to seven ensembles each. Among other things, these ensembles will be offered an attractive concert opportunity.

For decades, the prizewinners' concerts took place in the city of Zurich and then wandered for a few years until they found a new home in the Bernese Oberland in 2011. The Swiss Chamber Music Festival was born!

Since then, outstanding musical talents have been promoted annually at venues in the communities of Adelboden, Frutigen and Kandersteg and in collaboration with the Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition.

Not only classical music for adults is on the programme, but - in cooperation with the regional music school - also for children.

The programme management also looks beyond stylistic fences, with folk music playing just as central a role at the Swiss Chamber Music Festival as jazz.

The next edition of the Swiss Chamber Music Festival will take place from 10 to 19 September 2021. The programme will be announced in spring 2021.

Logo

Swiss Chamber Music Festival

Das Swiss Chamber Music Festival sorgt für ein Highlight in der vielfältigen Festivallandschaft der Schweiz und setzt mit der Förderung junger Musikschaffender, mit spannenden Programmierungen und Stilbegegnungen einen unverwechselbaren Akzent.

Ausgangspunkt des Festivals ist die Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition, die seit 1974 besteht und jährlich kammermusikalische Studienabgänger von Schweizer Musikhochschulen auszeichnet. Die am Wettbewerb teilnehmenden Ensembles stellen sich der hochkarätigen Jury – derzeit unter der Leitung des Berner Musikers und Cellisten Thomas Demenga –, die jeweils sechs bis sieben Ensembles prämiert. Diesen wird unter anderem eine attraktive Konzertmöglichkeit geboten.

Während Jahrzehnten haben die entsprechenden Preisträgerkonzerte in der Stadt Zürich stattgefunden und waren dann für ein paar Jahre auf Wanderschaft, bis sie 2011 im Berner Oberland eine neue Heimat fanden. Das Swiss Chamber Music Festival war geboren!

Seither werden jährlich an Veranstaltungsorten in den Gemeinden Adelboden, Frutigen und Kandersteg und in Kollaboration mit der Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition herausragende Musiktalente gefördert.

Doch nicht nur klassische Musik für Erwachsene steht auf dem Programm, sondern – in Zusammenarbeit mit der regionalen Musikschule – auch für Kinder. Die Programmleitung blickt zudem über stilistische Zäune hinweg, so kommt der Volksmusik am Swiss Chamber Music Festival eine ebenso zentrale Rolle zu wie etwa dem Jazz.

Die nächste Ausgabe des Swiss Chamber Music Festival findet vom 10. bis 19. September 2021 statt. Das Programm wird im Frühling 2021 bekanntgegeben.