Logo

Swiss Chamber Music Festival

The Swiss Chamber Music Festival provides a highlight in the diverse festival landscape of Switzerland and sets an unmistakable accent with the promotion of young musicians, exciting programming and style encounters.

The starting point of the festival is the Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition, which has existed since 1974 and annually honours chamber music graduates from Swiss music academies. The ensembles taking part in the competition face the high-calibre jury - currently led by Bern musician and cellist Thomas Demenga - which awards prizes to six to seven ensembles each. Among other things, these ensembles will be offered an attractive concert opportunity.

For decades, the prizewinners' concerts took place in the city of Zurich and then wandered for a few years until they found a new home in the Bernese Oberland in 2011. The Swiss Chamber Music Festival was born!

Since then, outstanding musical talents have been promoted annually at venues in the communities of Adelboden, Frutigen and Kandersteg and in collaboration with the Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition.

Not only classical music for adults is on the programme, but - in cooperation with the regional music school - also for children.

The programme management also looks beyond stylistic fences, with folk music playing just as central a role at the Swiss Chamber Music Festival as jazz.

The next edition of the Swiss Chamber Music Festival will take place from 10 to 19 September 2021. The programme will be announced in spring 2021.

Logo

Swiss Chamber Music Festival

Le Festival suisse de musique de chambre est un point culminant dans le paysage des festivals de Suisse et met l'accent sur la promotion de jeunes musiciens, une programmation passionnante et des rencontres de styles.

Le point de départ du festival est l'Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition, qui existe depuis 1974 et qui récompense chaque année les diplômés des conservatoires suisses de musique de chambre. Les ensembles participant au concours sont confrontés à un jury de haut niveau, actuellement dirigé par le bernois Thomas Demenga, musicien et violoncelliste, qui décerne des prix à six ou sept ensembles chacun. Entre autres choses, ces ensembles se verront offrir une occasion de concert attrayante.

Pendant des décennies, les concerts des lauréats ont eu lieu dans la ville de Zurich, puis ils ont erré pendant quelques années avant de s'installer dans l'Oberland bernois en 2011. Le Festival suisse de musique de chambre était né !

Depuis lors, des talents musicaux exceptionnels sont promus chaque année dans les communes d'Adelboden, Frutigen et Kandersteg, en collaboration avec l'Orpheus Swiss Chamber Music Competition.

La musique classique pour adultes n'est pas la seule au programme, mais aussi - en coopération avec l'école de musique régionale - pour les enfants.

La direction du programme va au-delà des barrières stylistiques, la musique populaire jouant un rôle tout aussi central que le jazz dans le cadre du Festival suisse de musique de chambre.

La prochaine édition du Swiss Chamber Music Festival aura lieu du 10 au 19 septembre 2021. Le programme sera annoncé au printemps 2021.